2018 Spring Seminar Series

2018 Spring Seminar Series

The Department of Geography, Geology and Planning is beginning a seminar series starting on Friday, January 26.

*All seminars are free and open to the public.

Location: Temple Hall 345

Spring Seminar Series schedule

Date Time Speaker Title of seminar
Friday, January 26 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Emitt Witt

USGS, Hydrologist

“Applications Using the National Map – 3D Elevation Program (3DEP)”

Friday, February 2 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Charles Rovey

MSU, GGP Department Professor

“Sediment & Fossils in Riverbluff Cave: an Unusual Record of Local, Regional and Global (?) Events” 
Friday, February 9 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Frank Ramos

NMSU, Geology

“Dating Very Young Volcanic Rocks at Changbaishan Volcano, China/N.Korea”

Friday, February 16 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Ron Foster

Marathon Oil Corp

“Interpreting the Structural Geometry of the Jisik Antiform, Zagros Fold Belt, Kurdistan, Iraq” 

Wednesday, February 21 12:15-1:30 p.m.

Todd Halihan 

OSU, Boone Pickens School of Geology

“The Future of Water: Data or Instincts”

Friday, March 2 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Katherine Ryker

University of South Carolina, School of the Earth, Ocean & Environment

“Bringing Inquiry and Active Learning into Introductory Geoscience Courses” 
Friday, April 6 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Janice Greene 

MSU, Biology

"Bull Shoals Field Station, Migrating Birds, and Geography"
Friday, April 20  3:30-4:30 p.m.

Lee MacDonald

Colorado State University 

“Watershed Erosion from  Forest Thinning, Fires and Roads in Colorado” (OEWRI, Ozarks Environmental and Water Resources Institute, Sponsored)

Friday, April 27 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Toby Dogwiler

MSU, GGP Department Head

“Using Drone-Based Photogrammetry to Quantify Geomorphic Landscape Features”

Friday, May 4 3:30-4:30 p.m.

Matt Fockler

Augustana College

“Two-Mississippi: Repeat Photography and Analysis of Social-Ecological Change on the Upper Mississippi River Since the 9-Foot Channel Project”