Faculty and Staff

Leaders in their chosen fields. Connections that can lead you into job and internship openings.

Above all, our faculty and staff commit to helping you succeed.

Graduate foci

Graduate students: Study and work under someone who shares your interests.

Review our focus areas for graduate education.

Geography faculty

Melanie E. Carden-Jessen

Earth Science - Elementary Earth Science

Deborah B. Corcoran

World Regional Geography & General Geography

Dr. Toby J. Dogwiler

Applied GIS & 3D Imaging, Geomorphology, Hydroclimatology, Water Resources

Linnea A. Iantria

Tourism Geography & World Regional Geography

Dr. Jun Luo

Geospatial Sciences - GIS

Dr. Ron Malega

Social Geography & Planning

Dr. Judith L. Meyer

Cultural/Historical Geography - National Parks

Dr. Xin Miao

Geospatial Science - GIS /Remote Sensing

Dr. Robert T. Pavlowsky

Dr. Robert T. Pavlowsky

Distinguished Professor
Director of the Ozarks Environmental and Water Resources Institute

Environmental & Natural Resources Geography

Dr. David R. Perkins

Tourism & General Geography

Dr. Xiaomin Qiu

Geospatial Sciences Geography

Geology faculty

Damon J. Bassett

Paleontology & General Physical Geology

Dr. Toby J. Dogwiler

Applied GIS & 3D Imaging, Geomorphology, Hydroclimatology, Water Resources

Dr. Kevin R. Evans

Stratigraphy Geology & Sedimentology

Dr. Douglas R. Gouzie

Dr. Douglas R. Gouzie

Departmental Director of Graduate Studies

Karst Geology & Aqueous Geochemistry

Dr. Melida Gutierrez

Environmental Geochemistry & Geohydrology

Dr. Matthew P. McKay

Tectonics & Structural Geology

Dr. Gary Michelfelder

Volcanology, Igneous Petrology & Geochemistry

Dr. Kevin L. Mickus

Tectonics, Geophysics

Dr. Matthew C. Pierson

Dr. Matthew C. Pierson

Associate Professor
Civil Engineering Faculty, Mace/Turblex Engineering Professor

Dr. Charles W. Rovey

Hydrogeology & Environmental Geology

Per-course and adjunct faculty

  • Adam Coulter
  • Susanne Daniel
  • Ted Keller
  • Breanna Michelfelder
  • Paul Sherman
  • Sean Terry
  • Timothy Tucker
  • Sean Zeiger

Emeritus faculty

Dr. Jill A. Black

Earth Science - Elementary Earth Science